PIP for mental health: How to claim PIP for mental health | Personal Finance | Finance


PIP is split into two parts, and how much you get is decided by an assessment taken by an independent healthcare professional. To get PIP, you must be unable to do certain activities such as getting dressed or moving around. Here’s how to claim PIP for mental health.

Can you claim PIP for mental health?

You can claim PIP for mental health, as long as you have had difficulties with daily living or getting around for at least three months.

These difficulties must be predicted to continue for at least nine months.

There is no list of conditions that automatically qualify you for PIP.

As long as you meet the requirements, you are eligible.

READ MORE-  PIP UK: DWP confirms video conference assessments are in the works

How to claim PIP for mental health

You can make a new PIP claim by calling the Department for Work and Pensions (DWP).

You’ll then be invited to a PIP test, which should take place over the phone.

The PIP test is points based, and you’ll need to score a specific amount to get even the basic rate.

The test is split into two parts – the daily-living part and the mobility part.

Each part of the test assesses how much you’ll get, since the PIP payment itself is divided into the same two parts.

Some people get both parts, others just one.

PIP: How to claim PIP if you’re terminally ill [INFORMER]
PIP mandatory reconsideration: How to challenge a PIP decision [INSIGHT]
PIP: Can you get PIP for anxiety? [EXPLAINER]

The first activity tests how well you can prepare food and you can get up to eight points for this.

The second judges how well you can take nutrition and you can get up to 10 points for this.

The third activity is about how you manage your therapy or monitor your health condition and whether or not you need help to do so – you can get up to eight points for this.

The fourth activity on the daily living part tests your ability to wash and bath yourself.

The fifth is about going to the toilet, and the sixth tests how well you dress and undress – all of these are worth up to eight points.

The seventh activity is about how you communicate verbally, and you can get up to 12 points for this.

The eighth focuses on reading and understanding signs, symbols and words, and the maximum amount of points you can get for this is eight.

The ninth activity is about engaging with other people, and the final activity is about budgeting your money – both are worth up to eight points.

To get the mobility part of PIP, you need to score between eight and 11 points to get the basic rate of £23.60

This one may not be suitable for most people with mental health conditions.

If you score 12 points or more, you can get the enhanced rate of £62.25.

There are only two activities in this half of the test and they are both worth up to 12 points each.

The first activity assesses how well you can plan and follow a journey and checks how much help you need to do this, and the second is about moving around.

Once the test has been taken, you’ll get a letter confirming whether you’re eligible or not.

If you are, it will tell you how much you will get and when.

You will also be told when it will be reviewed to ensure you continue to be supported.

You can challenge a decision by asking for mandatory consideration.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.